Topics
Facilities
Format
Genre
Usage

Use <Ctrl> or (⌘) keys to select multiple terms

963 items
Diary on daily life at Tule Lake Camp (ddr-csujad-2-61)
doc Diary on daily life at Tule Lake Camp (ddr-csujad-2-61)
Diary of daily life at Tule Lake Camp for two days : March 9, 1944 and March 30, 1944. Diary in the form of interviews from anonymous Tule Lake incarcerees. Describes threat of violence from other incarcerees regarding food shortage, an art exhibit, repatriation, and the psychological impact of incarceration. See this object in the California …
Tule Lake pilgrimage July 4-7 1996: fifty years later ... (ddr-csujad-55-2692)
doc Tule Lake pilgrimage July 4-7 1996: fifty years later ... (ddr-csujad-55-2692)
A program pamphlet of 1996 Tule Lake pilgrimage. See this object in the California State Universities Japanese American Digitization project site: sac_jaac_2856
Barber shop (ddr-densho-37-384)
img Barber shop (ddr-densho-37-384)
Original WRA caption: Tule Lake Relocation Center, Newell, California. Motimer Cooke, Supervisor of Community Enterprises, enjoys the first hair-cut given in the barber shop at this War Relocation Authority center. Frances Imura, evacuee from Sacramento is the barber.
Row of barracks (ddr-densho-37-79)
img Row of barracks (ddr-densho-37-79)
Original WRA caption: Tule Lake Relocation Center, Newell, California. A view down one of the streets of the relocation center, showing the artistic way in which the evacuees decorate the exterior of their barracks to make them more homelike.
CSU Dominguez Hills Owen Sylvester Tule Lake Photo Collection (ddr-csujad-13)
Collection CSU Dominguez Hills Owen Sylvester Tule Lake Photo Collection (ddr-csujad-13)
The Owen M. Sylvester Photograph Collection (1942-1943, undated) contains 32 black-and-white photographs taken by Sylvester at Tule Lake. The majority of the photographs were taken inside the Tule Lake Incarceration Camp in Newell, California in November 1943 and feature scenes containing housing quarters, the stockade area, imprisoned Japanese Americans, and members of the 772nd Military Police …
Minidoka Irrigator Vol. III No. 39 (November 20, 1943) (ddr-densho-119-64)
doc Minidoka Irrigator Vol. III No. 39 (November 20, 1943) (ddr-densho-119-64)
Selected article titles: "Myer Releases True Facts About Tule Lake Rumors" (p. 1), "New Group 'Asks' Demands at Tule" (p. 1), "Hunt Census Instructions Released by Statistics. Plans Set For Tuesday Evening Round; Accuracy of Information Requested" (p. 1), "Burglar Breaks In Canteen Forty" (p. 1), "Volunteers Save Tule Lake Crops" (p. 1), "Life in New …
Camp warehouse (ddr-densho-11-5)
img Camp warehouse (ddr-densho-11-5)
This building, now a potato-processing plant, was formerly a produce-processing and storage facility at the Tule Lake concentration camp.
Tule Lake pilgrimage (ddr-densho-11-4)
img Tule Lake pilgrimage (ddr-densho-11-4)
Pilgrimage attendees examine an old latrine foundation from Block 73. The holes were for toilets, which were situated at each end of the facility. Group showers were in the middle.
Tule Lake pilgrimage (ddr-densho-11-1)
img Tule Lake pilgrimage (ddr-densho-11-1)
Jimi Yamaichi (right) pointing out something to Stan Shikuma at the former site of the Tule Lake concentration camp.
Pilgrimage attendees on Castle Rock (ddr-densho-11-6)
img Pilgrimage attendees on Castle Rock (ddr-densho-11-6)
Tule Lake inmates erected this cross on top of a formation called Castle Rock. The area below the cross is the former site of the concentration camp.
Tule Lake pilgrimage (ddr-densho-11-2)
img Tule Lake pilgrimage (ddr-densho-11-2)
Pilgrimage attendees barracks located on the property of a local farmer. Castle Rock is in the background.
Memorial plaque (ddr-densho-11-11)
img Memorial plaque (ddr-densho-11-11)
This plaque was placed at the base of the cross on Castle Rock on October 2, 1982. The plaque honors Christian ministers who served the inmates at the Tule Lake concentration camp.
Tule Lake pilgrimage (ddr-densho-11-3)
img Tule Lake pilgrimage (ddr-densho-11-3)
Pilgrimage attendees barracks located on the property of a local farmer. Castle Rock is in the background.
Evening program, Tule Lake pilgrimage (ddr-densho-11-9)
img Evening program, Tule Lake pilgrimage (ddr-densho-11-9)
At the Tule Lake pilgrimage, an evening program was held to honor the inmates and remember the incarceration experience. The person shown here is playing a shime taiko drum while slides taken during the incarceration are being shown in the background.
Stockade wood-burning stove (ddr-densho-11-8)
img Stockade wood-burning stove (ddr-densho-11-8)
In 1943, Tule Lake concentration camp became a segregation center. A stockade was built to detain those who were considered security risks by the WRA. This wood-burning stove was used to help heat the stockade.
Exterior of barracks (ddr-densho-35-42)
img Exterior of barracks (ddr-densho-35-42)
Local farmers currently own several barracks from the Tule Lake concentration camp. Some barracks have been made into homes, while others, like the one shown here, have been converted into storage areas.
Guard tower foundation (?) (ddr-densho-35-3)
img Guard tower foundation (?) (ddr-densho-35-3)
This foundation remnant, presumably from a guard tower, is located outside the barbed-wire fence surrounding the stockade.
Exterior of barracks and Castle Rock (ddr-densho-35-4)
img Exterior of barracks and Castle Rock (ddr-densho-35-4)
These barracks are now on the property of a Tule Lake farmer. A rock formation that the Japanese Americans called "Castle Rock" can be seen in the background. After obtaining permission to go through the gates, camp inmates could climb to the top of the formation.
Exterior of barracks (ddr-densho-35-15)
img Exterior of barracks (ddr-densho-35-15)
These barracks are one of two owned by a local farmer. The exterior has not been renovated.
Artifacts, Tule Lake concentration camp (ddr-densho-35-38)
img Artifacts, Tule Lake concentration camp (ddr-densho-35-38)
The Tule Lake Museum, located on the fairgrounds, displays artifacts from the Tule Lake concentration camp. Shown here are parts of a wooden crate that presumably held items belonging to a camp inmate. The 27213 designation was probably the owner's family number.
Coal-burning heater (ddr-densho-35-25)
img Coal-burning heater (ddr-densho-35-25)
The Tule Lake museum, located on the town's fairgrounds, contains artifacts from the Tule Lake concentration camp. Coal-burning heaters such as the one shown here were the primary source of heat for the camp inmates.
Washroom foundation (ddr-densho-35-19)
img Washroom foundation (ddr-densho-35-19)
This is a foundation from an old washroom. The Japanese Americans in camp did not have private washrooms, showers, toilets, or laundries. Each block, made up of approximately twelve barracks, shared such facilities.
Exterior of barracks (ddr-densho-35-6)
img Exterior of barracks (ddr-densho-35-6)
Local farmers now own a few barracks from the Tule Lake concentration camp. The buildings are used for storage, have been made into homes and garages, or are abandoned, like this one. The exterior of the barracks have remained almost untouched since World War II.
Washroom foundation (ddr-densho-35-18)
img Washroom foundation (ddr-densho-35-18)
This is a foundation from an old washroom. The Japanese Americans in camp did not have private washrooms, showers, toilets, or laundries. Each block, made up of approximately twelve barracks, shared such facilities.
API