Densho Digital Archive
Densho Visual History Collection
Title: George Fujimoto Interview
Narrator: George Fujimoto
Interviewer: Megan Asaka
Location: Denver, Colorado
Date: July 5, 2008
Densho ID: denshovh-fgeorge_2-01-0001

<Begin Segment 1>

MA: So today is July 5, 2008. I'm here with George Fujimoto. I am Megan Asaka, the interviewer, and the cameraperson is Dana Hoshide. And we are in Denver, Colorado, with the Japanese American National Museum conference. So George, thank you for doing this interview with us.

GF: Thank you for asking me.

MA: So I wanted to start with just a few basic questions. So when were you born?

GF: I was born January 13, 1920.

MA: And where were you born?

GF: In California, Colusa, California. C-O-L-U-S-A.

MA: And what was the name give to you when you were born?

GF: I guess it was George Kazuo.

MA: And I wanted to know a little bit about your parents. What was your father's name?

GF: His name was Tadao and my mother's name was Tsuya.

MA: And where were your parents from in Japan?

GF: Kumamoto.

MA: And do you know what your father, what his family did in Japan? What type of work?

GF: No, ma'am, I sure don't.

MA: Do you know at all how he met your mother?

GF: No, I don't remember how he met my mother 'cause I know, I think he was in California when they got married but I think she was here with her parents.

MA: So she came with her parents to the U.S.?

GF: With her parents yeah, yeah. And then that's where Dad met her, I guess.

MA: And what about your siblings? How many children were in your family?

GF: There were seven of us in the family. Big family.

MA: And were you the oldest, or...

GF: Yes, ma'am.

MA: So you're the oldest?

GF: I was the oldest.

MA: And how many boys and how many girls were there?

GF: There were four boys and three girls.

MA: Wow, that's quite a family.

GF: Yeah it was.

MA: So you were born, born in California --

GF: Yes, ma'am.

MA: But you actually were raised in Colorado, is that right?

GF: Yes.

MA: When did you do that move to Colorado?

GF: We moved from California to Colorado when I was eighteen months old and we moved to Loveland, Colorado.

MA: Is that near Denver? Is that outside of Denver?

GF: It's not too far from here. I'm not too sure how many miles or anything like that. It's probably not over 60 miles I guess.

MA: And do you know why your, your dad decided to make that move?

GF: No, I don't. He's, he's trying to venture out, I guess.

<End Segment 1> - Copyright © 2008 Densho. All Rights Reserved.