The DDR will be down for planned maintenance on Wednesday, December 11, 2019 from 12:00PM (noon) PST until 2:00PM PST. Densho websites and will also be unavailable during this time; however, you will still be able to visit our blog and find other information about Densho at our main website, We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Please email questions or comments to [email protected]


Magden Collection



These images were collected by Ron Magden, a prominent historian in the Pacific Northwest. The collection is comprised of photographs from the Tacoma/Fife area of Washington State. Densho interviewed Mr. Magden in 2004.



75 photographic prints, black and white


Courtesy of the Magden Collection

Copyright restricted
Copyright restricted

75 Objects

Grade school class photo (ddr-densho-109-3)
img Grade school class photo (ddr-densho-109-3)
Fife Grade School, grades two and three. The teacher is Mrs. Corey.
Dedication ceremony performance (ddr-densho-109-4)
img Dedication ceremony performance (ddr-densho-109-4)
AWA dancers and players at the Point Defiance memorial dedication.
Memorial dedication (ddr-densho-109-5)
img Memorial dedication (ddr-densho-109-5)
Dedication of the Point Defiance Issei Memorial.
Issei memorial (ddr-densho-109-7)
img Issei memorial (ddr-densho-109-7)
Issei Memorial at Point Defiance in Tacoma, Washington.
Issei memorial plaque (ddr-densho-109-8)
img Issei memorial plaque (ddr-densho-109-8)
This is the plaque for the cherry tree dedication at the Point Defiance Issei Memorial.
Boy Scouts (ddr-densho-109-9)
img Boy Scouts (ddr-densho-109-9)
Front row (L to R): Kurt Osaka, David Yotsuuye, Kelly Morita, Tetsuro Mohri, Rick Tanabe, Gene Yotsuuye. Back row (L to R): Reverend Suya Pratt, Reverend Mohri.
Issei memorial dedication (ddr-densho-109-10)
img Issei memorial dedication (ddr-densho-109-10)
Point Defiance Issei Memorial dedication ceremony. Left to right: Kimiya Yasuda, Haruge Ishitani, Reverend Sunya Pratt, Shigeru Masugi, Asia Ikeda, Kameo Kujamura, Yoshiko (last name unknown), Kenji Kanda, Mitsako Yamasaki, Kumazo Yamasaki, Mitsu Fujimoto, Kimiko Fujimoto (Tanbara).

See all objects